Academic Calendar

The Digital Film Academy runs on the trimester system, with all programs starting three times throughout the calendar year.

PROGRAM START DATES

2021

January 18 2021, May 10 2021, September 7 2021 – Advanced Digital Filmmaking

January 18 2021, May 10 2021, September 7 2021, January 18 2022 –
Associate of Science in Digital Media

January 18 2021, May 10 2021, September 7 2021 – Web Development Immersive

January 18 2021, May 10 2021, September 7 2021 – Python Immersive

2020

January 13 2020, May 11 2020, September 8 2020 – One Year Digital Filmmaking

January 13 2020, May 11 2020, September 8 2020 – Advanced Digital Filmmaking

January 13 2020, May 11 2020, September 8 2020 – Web Development Immersive

January 13 2020, May 11 2020, September 8 2020 – Python Immersive

*All dates subject to change. 

2021 Holidays that DFA Observes

(DFA will be closed on these dates)

  • Martin Luther King Jr. Day – January 19 (Monday)
  • President’s Day – February 15 (Monday)
  • Memorial Day – May 31 (Monday)
  • Independence Day – July 5 (Monday)
  • Labor Day – September 6 (Monday)
  • Columbus Day | Indigenous People’s Day – October 11 (Monday)
  • Veterans Day – November 11 (Monday)
  • Thanksgiving – November 26 (Friday)
  • Christmas – December 25 (Saturday)

2020 Holidays that DFA Observes

(DFA will be closed on these dates)

  • New Year’s Day – January 1 (Wednesday)
  • Martin Luther King Jr. Day – January 20 (Monday)
  • President’s Day – February 17 (Monday)
  • Memorial Day – May 25 (Monday)
  • Independence day – July 3 (Friday)
  • Labor Day – September 7 (Monday)
  • Columbus Day – October 12 (Monday)
  • Veterans Day – November 11 (Wednesday)
  • Thanksgiving – November 26 (Thursday)
  • Christmas – December 25 (Friday)

TRIMESTER SYSTEM

Digital Film Academy follows a trimester system, in which the academic year is divided into instructional terms, which can be up to 16 weeks of instruction. Three terms equal an academic year.

PROGRAMS

Programs represent a series of courses provided in a full-time schedule that when completed successfully lead to a professional certificate. Each term has between 10 to 16 weeks of instruction. Class hours generally range from 10:00am – 9:30pm. Daytime and evening schedules available.

WORKSHOPS

Workshops represent course(s) or class(es) held over a shorter length of time, in an intensive study.

COURSES

Courses represent a series of lessons or lectures dealing with a subject; may include multiple subjects that are closely related. Courses can be up to 16 weeks of instruction.

CLOCK HOURS

Course work at Digital Film Academy is measured in clock hours. For all programs, one clock hour is defined as 50 minutes of instruction in a 60-minute period. For workshops, one clock hour is defined as 60 minutes of instruction in a 60-minute period. For courses, one clock hour can be defined as 50 minutes in a 60-minute period OR 60 minutes in a 60-minute period, depending on the course.